Counting chickens before they hatch

Remember yesterday when I said I was looking forward to a day with nothing planned?  That didn’t pan out for me.

The last time I checked the weather it was supposed to be rainy and dreary today – a perfect day for being indoors.  It turned out to be sunny and breezy, but still nice enough to be outside.  So after a morning of cleaning the house, and 20 billion loads of laundry, the Postman came home from visiting his dad with the announcement that “THE CORN MUST BE PLANTED TODAY.”  His mom and dad have two small gardens that they plant every year.  Since he is not well this year, the planting has fallen to us.  I suspect the entire project will fall to us as I really don’t see the Postman’s dad being well enough to weed, harvest, and empty the garden in the fall.  But who knows.  Anyway, his dad has been talking about the stupid corn  – and how it needs to be planted NOW – for days.  So today was the day.  I think mostly just so P-Man could say it was done.  (In fact, we all went back to visit his dad later this afternoon, specifically to tell him that the corn was in the ground.  Amen.)

I have never planted anything in my life.  Seriously.  I have, in the past, bought plants and/or flowers, and relocated them from pots to the ground.  Then they die.  Always.  I do not have a green thumb.  At all.  We’ll see how this all turns out later this summer.  Maybe since P-Man and the Captain were in on it, the plants won’t know that I was there too and they will grow.

I spent this evening and tonight working since I spent a lot of time with P-Man’s parents last week – IV hookups, doctor appointments, and then the return trip to the hospital via the ER – which took hours.  I have my end of month deadline looming closer than I’m ready for so I need to buckle down in order to get it all finished.

Good news on the baseball front – the Captain did not get hit by a pitch in this weekend’s game!  Woohoo! 

Hope you all had fantastic weekends!

There aren’t enough days in the weekend.  ~Rod Schmidt

One response to “Counting chickens before they hatch

  1. 🙂 Sounds fun, planting corn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

