A spoonful of sugar

Riddle me this, Mary Poppins.

If you are a SAHM, why do you need a nanny? I’m not talking about once a week for a couple of hours while you take some time for yourself. I’m talking, full-on, all day nanny.

Let’s break it down. S = Stay; A = at; H = home; M = MOM.

All right – I’ll ‘fess up. I don’t particulary care for the mommy in question. Let’s call her Georgia. Georgia’s son is a little prick to my son. Which explains my dislike for her as she cannot even fathom that her son might be less than perfect. While I willingly admit that they are 9 year boys each with their own version of the story and the truth hovering somewhere in the middle of their respective stories, her stance is “Not my son, no way, not ever”.

The Postman, knowing how I feel about Georgia, dropped this little tidbit on me: “I think Georgia has a nanny for the kids.” Say what, Postman?  “I see the same car there every day, regardless of time, with the same blonde chick out with the kids.”

Hmmmmm….interesting.  Perhaps her son IS a little prick and even she can’t stand being around him all day.

A child is a curly dimpled lunatic.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

4 responses to “A spoonful of sugar

  1. hahaha. She can’t even stand her own kid. Or maybe she just doesn’t want to be bothered with, you know, caring for him. 🙂

  2. I was a nanny for a family with four kids (I lived with them, etc. for two years) and the mom was a SAHM. Why did they need me? Because the youngest (6 months at the time I started) were twins and the older two (a 3 YO and 6 YO) needed just as much attention.

    Also, their father went to Europe (for his job) for 4 solid months.

    … and did I mention the SAHM had a lot of chronic health problems?

    So, that’s why the SAHM needed me, the nanny. And nearly 13 years later, I consider them my ‘family’ more than I do my biological family. In fact, I just got home from spending a month with them in CA.

    Krissi from Krississippi

  3. … and I should probably mention that my OWN crazy chronic health issues (um, kidney failure? dialysis for 4 years? kidney transplant? Fibromyalgia? etc.?) have made ME consider the benefits of a nanny.

    However, in my case, having only one child, I’m doing my best to take care of his needs myself. I owe it to him 🙂

  4. Krissi- there’s obviously exceptions to every situation. But trust me – this particularr mother doesn’t fall into that category. I think Morgan hit it on the head with “she just doesn’t want to be bothered with, you know, caring for him”. I wish you well in your health and caring for your son 🙂

Leave a Reply

